A Quiet Place in a Loud World

Travel

I’m a heavy sleeper.

When I moved to Boston in 2011, I came from the little antiquing town of Snohomish, Washington, where everything moved more slowly, and the pressure of city life was far away. Suddenly, sirens, musical instruments, talking, laughing, and car horns surrounded me daily, but the noise didn’t really bother me. I could sleep through it; it was exciting.

What I didn’t realize at the time was that even when you’re not really bothered by the noises of the city, you sometimes need a break from the relentless activity, the fast pace, the people surrounding you.

At these times, a quiet place becomes the most important place in the world. The last two summers, I’ve had the opportunity to spend time at a beautiful, peaceful little lake in the Adirondack mountains of New York. There’s no internet or cell service at the house, only one tiny grocery store in town, and the closest large town is about 40 minutes away.

This quiet place in a loud world is utterly perfect, and I think we all need one like it to remind ourselves of how little all that noise really matters.

20160722_205541.jpg

Leave a Reply

